Monday, December 6, 2010

Blog 75

                Dear English 110 student.  English this year was probably a lot different than any other English I’ve ever taken.  The fact that it was based off of science fiction already made it a bit strange.  If you absolutely hate science fiction, then I think that your mind may be changes, because science fiction entails so much, and it can be pretty cool.  In the beginning you will have to watch an episode from a list of science fiction TV series every day, and then blog about it.  Watching TV will basically be your homework.  Blogging everyday will get a bit annoying at times, especially since it must be at least 250 words.  Eventually you will have to write a paper on the TV series you have been watching, and blogging will turn into whatever you want.  At first, all of this will seem extremely pointless to you.  It almost seems like it is a waste of time, but it helps you in a way that is not easily recognized at first.  Towards the end of the year, blogging 250 words will be a piece of cake and writing will seem a lot less intimidating to you.  You will learn to analyze different television shows and compare them to real life.  You should listen to the teacher during class time, because the structure for writing a paper is very specific.  Take advantage of the extra credit opportunities.  There are many of them, and it can change your grade completely.  Try your best to have fun with the two papers you have to write.  Especially the second one since it can pretty much be about anything.  Try to have fun in the class, and I hope you do very well.

Sunday, December 5, 2010

Blog 74

                I honestly cannot say that I enjoy science fiction any more or less now than when the class first started.  I never really disliked science fiction at all, it was just normal.  My uncle loves science fiction.  Sy-Fy is probably one of his favorite channels.  I would sit down and watch science fiction every once in a while, but it’s not like I ever anticipated a show or movie that was on Sy-Fy.  I especially hated the movies where there were big killer animals.  My dad and I call them “smart animal movies” because it seems as if the animals are actually very intelligent and they do things like trick the humans, in a way that many people cannot even think of, just so that they can kill them for no reason.  I really do not like those movies.  When we first started, I watched Buffy as my TV episode.  I started out by not liking it that much, but then it came to a point where I actually enjoyed it if I had to watch it.  When we watched BSG and Caprica, I enjoyed the episode, but I never thought that I would definitely not like it.  Basically my opinion on science fiction has not changed.  I feel like if a good enough movie comes out, everyone can like science fiction.  The movie Avatar was a science fiction movie, and people loved that, so I guess if the plot is good enough, then anyone can enjoy science fiction.  In conclusion, it really was not bad at all.

Blog 73

                After this blog, I will only have 2 more to go.  It feels good to finally be done with blogging.  I’m not sure if I will ever come back on to blogger once I am done the blogs and comments and what not.  Some people absolutely love blogging.  I can’t say I am the same way.  Every once in a while it wasn’t too bad though.  If I have a good topic to blog about, then I can run with it.  This year I think the blog that I enjoyed the most was the one where we read a couple commonplace articles, then blogged about it.  My article ended up being about how PETA is a horrible organization, and I agreed, so I just went off on a rant about them.  It was kind of nice speaking my mind about them, but at the same time, I did not want to offend anybody, because I know that there are a lot of PETA lovers out there, but I just have my own personal opinion about them.  Blogs definitely got a lot easier than the first time we started doing them.  I remember the first time it seemed like typing 250 words every single day of the quarter was going to suck, but now it takes 2 minutes to reach the limit, and it is not hard at all.  It made writing seem a lot less intimidating.  I still don’t think it should have been everyday though, but now what does it matter?  It’s over, and we all benefitted from it in a way.

Blog 72

                So it feels good that classes are over.  The quarter definitely flew by.  It’s kind of bitter sweet that time moves by so fast in college.  It’s nice because you know that the classes you can’t stand will be over soon, but it really sucks because college is a lot of fun, so you don’t want it to go by too fast.  At least that’s how I feel about it.  Classes ending is good, but the studying for finals that we must do right now isn’t so good.  It’s all I have been doing this whole weekend.  I am more worried about my psychology final, which really shouldn’t be that bad after I study and prepare myself for it, I just think it will be a lot tougher than my math final, which I have tomorrow.  I need to take a break now from studying.  That is why I am doing this blog right now.  I also want to take a short nap and stay up late studying tonight.  I can stay up pretty late since my math final is not until 5:30 tomorrow, so I will have plenty of time to sleep in, and to get an extra review in.  We just found out that Ohio State will be playing Arkansas in the Sugar Bowl this year.  We better crush them.  I will be upset if we don’t, I know that they are a good team, but I also know that we are a lot better.  I am ready to win this Sugar Bowl.  LETS GO BUCKS!!

Thursday, December 2, 2010

Blog 71

                The show Caprica today seemed to be pretty good.  I was a little bit distracted for most of it, so I do not completely remember the entire thing.  All I really know is there is a husband and wife, and they have a girl that likes to misbehave.  I’m not actually 100% sure if they were actually husband and wife, but there was some type of romantic relationship between them.  There must have been a lot of tension inside of the family, because when the lady slapped her daughter when she was misbehaving and talking back, it seemed as if it hurt for the lady to do it.  The girl went on to say that she would regret that for the rest of her life.  I pretty much tuned out after this, but tuned back in a certain moments.  I am not sure if I am correct, but I think the lady disappeared later in the episode.  I’m not sure where she went, but I don’t think it was a good thing.  The holographic place that the girl goes to seemed pretty cool.  A lot of it was kind of weird, like how you could just shoot random people.  I thought it was especially weird when she said you can shoot your friends if you would like.  That just seemed kind of wrong to me.  It seemed like a pretty fun dance party, but at the same time really raunchy, like all the naked sluts walking around wanting sex.  I understand it was just a hologram, but still, just a little weird.  From what I saw, it seemed like a good show.  I might watch it one day to see how it is.

Blog 70

                I am about to leave in two minutes to go to our last English class.  It feels kind of good knowing that the quarter is ending.  English seems like it is going to be a very easy day, and I am looking forward to that.  Now that the memos are over with I can work on revising my Commonplace paper, and commenting my but off so that I can get to 160.  It shouldn’t be too hard though.  I think I need to do 55 more.  That can take me two nights if I want it to, because sometimes I will sit in front of the TV and just go down the list and read, and comment everyone’s blog for a solid hour.  That kills about 25 comments right there, then I am pretty much half way there.  It’s nice that we just get to watch an episode in class today.  It seems like it is a time to just sit down and relax, because as soon as I come back from class, it’s time to get right back in to work mood.  I think today is my busiest day of the week.  I must work on revising this paper, and I have to study for a test I have tomorrow.  It doesn’t seem too bad, but I am only running on 2 hours of sleep from last night, and about 6 hours of sleep from the past 2 days, so staying awake and focused will be a challenge in itself.  Well it’s time to go to class.  I am not looking forward to the cold walk.

Wednesday, December 1, 2010

Blog 69

Apparently it might snow today and possibly on Thursday also.  I am kind of excited.  I kind of like the snow.  In my opinion, it is a lot better than it just being frigidly cold for no reason at all.  Snow is nice.  It increases the scenery, and it has the potential to be a lot of fun.  I remember when we were young, whenever we saw that it was snowing, we all hoped that we would have a day off from school.  If we did get off from school, we didn’t sleep in, or take the time to get caught up on homework like we do now, we went out and played in the snow.  It was a lot of fun.  Sledding was the best part.  I remember sledding for as long as I could until I basically just got too cold.  My brothers and I always went to a pretty big hill to sled down.  It was better than what most people are used to.  One time, a couple of our friends took us to a GIGANTIC hill.  When they first told us that we were going to their hill to sled, we were skeptical, because we already went sledding on one of the best hills, but the hill they showed us blew it away.  I was probably no older than 10 at the time, but I still remember that day being the greatest sledding experience I have ever had.  I remember it being so tiring to walk back up the hill.  The hill was so tall, and steep, that if we made it all the way down to the bottom of the hill while still sitting on the sled, then you accomplished something.  Now that I think back on it, I kind of want those days back whenever it snows.  That’s why I like the snow.  I hope it snows sometime soon.